Living paradise and got an awesome job! - Reisverslag uit Townsville, Australië van Roos Burg - WaarBenJij.nu Living paradise and got an awesome job! - Reisverslag uit Townsville, Australië van Roos Burg - WaarBenJij.nu

Living paradise and got an awesome job!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Roos

04 Juli 2013 | Australië, Townsville

Hi everybody,

Here I am again with so much to tell. After my Fraser Island trip I went to a new couch surfing couple in Howard and I stayed there for a week. I had a relaxed week because I was pretty tired from the week before. The week before was my first time in a hostel and I forgot to tell you that you don’t get any sleep in the hostels because 1. You party every night 2. You sleep in a dorm with 16 people! Yes, you read it well 16 people walking in and out. So that means lights turned on en off the whole night, (drunk) people making noise and people packing there bags. Not that you still hear that after a few nights because you are too tired to wake up. But the fun part is that you meet people from all over the world and you are never alone and offcourse parties, although I must say that the partying here is not that good as in Europe. They don’t have so much clubs in Aussie and the clubs they do have are a few generations behind with music, haha. I noticed that I didn’t tell so much about all the differences in Australia. Offcourse the weather is awesome!!!! It is always warm here. It does depend in what part of Australia you are because it is so big. But down in the south it is still around 20 degrees and where I am now, in the north it is around 26 degrees, but it feels a lot warmer in the sun. And that’s the Aussie winter! I can soooo live with this for a year! It will stay like this till the end of august and then it starts getting warmer. The summer starts in november and the temperature can raise till about 45 degrees. The most Australians find it really cold now. Especially down in the south it is rainy and about 20 degrees and they are wearing uggboots and gloves. I’m serious, they are wearing cloves. And there I am with my shorts and flip flops and the Australians are looking at me like I lost my mind and asking if I’m not freezing. When I tell them about the European winters and that this weather is like summer for us that when it’s around 25 degrees everybody is so happy and goes to the beach, the Aussies are looking at me with a face like they can’t believe me. I’m serious the most beaches in the not so touristic places are pretty much empty now. You won’t see many Aussies at the beach with this temperature. Good for me because I have the beach for myself :D Another thing is the drink water here. It’s not so clean as in Holland. They put chemicals in it to clean the water and in some places it tasts like your drinking out of swimming pool. Really bad haha but maby that’s because I’m so used to the clean water we have in Holland. The hot water is not unlimited either because the most places don’t size there warm water correctly.

Now something about what I did the last few weeks. After my week in Howard I went to a couchsurfer in the middle of the bush in Mackay and that was awesome! They owned a udge tropical rainforest and mountains en had beautiful lakes at their property. I arrived at 7 in the morning and Riely, my couch surfer host picked me up from the bus. We had some breakfast and went to his beautiful home where he had two other couchsurfers staying, two German girls. Riely showed us around their property and we went for a swim in some icecold water lake. It was beautiful but so cold because it was water coming from the mountains. After that we had a nice lunch. Riely made us some vegetarian lasagne. Btw the food for me as a vegetarian is so good here. I never know what to aspect when I go to other countries because most of the time there is not so much choice if you are a vegetarian but the Aussies have a lot of replacements and good food for me as well. After lunch Riely took us up high in the mountains to see the stunning views from up there. Amazing!! It was getting pretty cold because we were so high so we went for some hot chocolate and chilled out, watching the beautiful view. After that we played cards and Riely gave us a coctailworkshop. We had some very nice conversations and funny discussions. Offcourse is me being a vegetarian always part of the conversation when I am somewhere new. The two German girls were studying marine biology so we could share some interesting opinions. Was a very funny night. The next day we went to the rainforest and did some serious mountain climbing. It was a bit scary because they were a lot of big rocks and it was very high but in the end it was totally worth it. We made a campfire with marshmallows, yummm and enjoyed the beautiful view. Life can be so great! This night we went to a party from a friend of Riely and watched a famous football game. I was more enjoying the food and chilling around the campfire then watching the game, haha. The next day the German girls left and I stayed one more day. We did some big shopping and had a nice movie night because the next day we were heading to Bowen for a weekend of sailing! Bowen was great. It was a real paradise. We stayed at the apartment of a friend of Riely with again two other girls. His apartment was amazing! It was a penthouse at the beach and all the walls were from glass with seaview. I couldn’t stop saying wooooooow!! It was a great weekend. In the evening we made cocktails, played some drinking games and partied in Bowen, which was a pretty nice party town. They had only one club but I think because everyone went there it was busy. A lot of hippies, but very funny. The next day we went sailing again. The weather was perfect and I learned how to sail and finaly got a bit of tan, haha and that after 6 weeks in Australia. I am just so busy with doing and seeing things that I didn’t do so much sunbaking. We sailed to a nice beach, set up our volleyball net, played some volleyball and chilled out. This was the last day of our beautiful weekend in Bowen. One of the guys had another house in Townsville and he was going there so he could drop me off at my next couch surfing address.

My next host was with a man who made his life about couch surfing. In a few years he had more than 100 experiences. You can always read the references from a couch surfer so it is a pretty safe way of travelling. He had so many good references that It made me curious to meet him. I arrived and there were two Germans girls as well. So many Germans here, haha. I heard that 4 million Germans are travelling trough Australia at the moment. We had some dinner, watched a movie and went to bed. The next day the girls and me explored Townsville, went to the beach and ate some sushi, yummy. I love the sushi here, it is cheap compared with all the other food and it is so good! They have those funny sushi trains witch I never saw before. You just go to the sushi bar and then you can pick the sushi from a train that runs over the bar trough the restaurant. Looks so funny!

The day after the girls left and I did my best to apply for jobs. This was the first time I was actually looking and I send my resume and cover letter to a few companies and called a horse riding organisation in the tropical rainforest. It was a 3 months old add so I didn’t thought I would have a chance but I just tried and called them and they asked me some questions. I told them about my ten years of experience with different kinds of horse riding and they were pretty enthusiastic and said they would call me back in a few days and if not I had to call them back because they had a very busy time at the moment. So today I was in the car doing some shopping with my host and the other girls and my phoned ringed. You get two weeks of trial. They said my English was perfect and my experience very good. I was screaming inside. So happy!!!!!! I will hitch hike to Cairns tomorrow, 4/5 hours away from where I am now. Stay there for one night in a hostel and the day after they will send a bus to pick me up. And then a new adventure begins! I can hardly wait! I will be with the horses every day. Have to work hard but I will be in absolute paradise in the middle of nowhere with the tropical rainforest around me. I will guide the horse riding trips along the beach and in the rainforest and I am very sure I will have the absolute time of my life. They said I have barely no reception up there so it might take a while for me to write a new blog.

I am so grateful for this opportunity. I still love it here, I am so happy that I decided to come here on my own. I feel that I grow every day. It is such a challenge being in a country with everything unknown and meet new people every day. The hardest and at the same time the best thing is that you have to decide everything yourself. I have to think about every dissuasion without having my safe environment and friends around me. I can recommend travelling by yourself to everyone! You grow so much and you will have the best time of your life! I don’t believe in people saying you have to enjoy it now because it is a once in a lifetime opportunity. Life can be as great as you make it and I feel like I have found one of my destinations in life. After this year I will finish my study Social Work but I am definitely not going to stay in Holland. I want to travel and go everywhere, work all around the world. Thankyou for reading my story! I see that a lot of you are following me. It is so nice for me to read the respondings on my blog. Please feel free to leave a message if you read my story.

  • 05 Juli 2013 - 00:02

    Peter:

    :-) You go girl :-)

  • 05 Juli 2013 - 00:09

    Corina:

    Wow meid wat heerlijk weer om dit allemaal te lezen. Het is zo duidelijk door de woorden heen dat je zo gelukkig bent. Helemaal in je element. Natuurlijk wist je dat je een fantastische reis zou gaan maken. Maar dit overtreft alles. Ongelofelijk wat je allemaal beleeft en de mooie mensen die je ontmoet. En hoe je daar in groeit naar zelfstandigheid en onafhankelijkheid. Ik als moeder geniet hier zo ontzettend van. Meis ik ben zo super trots op. Je gaat nu een nieuwe fase van je reis tegemoet. De tijd van elke dag watsapp soms zelfs 2x is voorbij. We wisten allebei dat dit ging komen. Het is goed. We konden er langzaam aan wennen. We kunnen elkaar een beetje meer loslaten. Ook dat hoort bij deze reis. Een mooie droom komt uit nu. Werken in een tropisch paradijs met paarden, waar je hart ligt. Wauw dan ben ik toch wel jaloers hoor. Ik zou heel graag een kijkje komen nemen. Maar wacht op de vele nieuwe foto's en filmpjes die gaan komen. Heel plezier lieverd op naar het nieuwe avontuur. En blijf schrijven he. Want heel veel mensen volgen je over de hele wereld. Ik hou van je, dikke kus en knuf Mamsel.

  • 05 Juli 2013 - 00:09

    Corina:

    Wow meid wat heerlijk weer om dit allemaal te lezen. Het is zo duidelijk door de woorden heen dat je zo gelukkig bent. Helemaal in je element. Natuurlijk wist je dat je een fantastische reis zou gaan maken. Maar dit overtreft alles. Ongelofelijk wat je allemaal beleeft en de mooie mensen die je ontmoet. En hoe je daar in groeit naar zelfstandigheid en onafhankelijkheid. Ik als moeder geniet hier zo ontzettend van. Meis ik ben zo super trots op. Je gaat nu een nieuwe fase van je reis tegemoet. De tijd van elke dag watsapp soms zelfs 2x is voorbij. We wisten allebei dat dit ging komen. Het is goed. We konden er langzaam aan wennen. We kunnen elkaar een beetje meer loslaten. Ook dat hoort bij deze reis. Een mooie droom komt uit nu. Werken in een tropisch paradijs met paarden, waar je hart ligt. Wauw dan ben ik toch wel jaloers hoor. Ik zou heel graag een kijkje komen nemen. Maar wacht op de vele nieuwe foto's en filmpjes die gaan komen. Heel plezier lieverd op naar het nieuwe avontuur. En blijf schrijven he. Want heel veel mensen volgen je over de hele wereld. Ik hou van je, dikke kus en knuf Mamsel.

  • 05 Juli 2013 - 00:09

    Corina:

    Wow meid wat heerlijk weer om dit allemaal te lezen. Het is zo duidelijk door de woorden heen dat je zo gelukkig bent. Helemaal in je element. Natuurlijk wist je dat je een fantastische reis zou gaan maken. Maar dit overtreft alles. Ongelofelijk wat je allemaal beleeft en de mooie mensen die je ontmoet. En hoe je daar in groeit naar zelfstandigheid en onafhankelijkheid. Ik als moeder geniet hier zo ontzettend van. Meis ik ben zo super trots op. Je gaat nu een nieuwe fase van je reis tegemoet. De tijd van elke dag watsapp soms zelfs 2x is voorbij. We wisten allebei dat dit ging komen. Het is goed. We konden er langzaam aan wennen. We kunnen elkaar een beetje meer loslaten. Ook dat hoort bij deze reis. Een mooie droom komt uit nu. Werken in een tropisch paradijs met paarden, waar je hart ligt. Wauw dan ben ik toch wel jaloers hoor. Ik zou heel graag een kijkje komen nemen. Maar wacht op de vele nieuwe foto's en filmpjes die gaan komen. Heel plezier lieverd op naar het nieuwe avontuur. En blijf schrijven he. Want heel veel mensen volgen je over de hele wereld. Ik hou van je, dikke kus en knuf Mamsel.

  • 05 Juli 2013 - 00:09

    Corina:

    Wow meid wat heerlijk weer om dit allemaal te lezen. Het is zo duidelijk door de woorden heen dat je zo gelukkig bent. Helemaal in je element. Natuurlijk wist je dat je een fantastische reis zou gaan maken. Maar dit overtreft alles. Ongelofelijk wat je allemaal beleeft en de mooie mensen die je ontmoet. En hoe je daar in groeit naar zelfstandigheid en onafhankelijkheid. Ik als moeder geniet hier zo ontzettend van. Meis ik ben zo super trots op. Je gaat nu een nieuwe fase van je reis tegemoet. De tijd van elke dag watsapp soms zelfs 2x is voorbij. We wisten allebei dat dit ging komen. Het is goed. We konden er langzaam aan wennen. We kunnen elkaar een beetje meer loslaten. Ook dat hoort bij deze reis. Een mooie droom komt uit nu. Werken in een tropisch paradijs met paarden, waar je hart ligt. Wauw dan ben ik toch wel jaloers hoor. Ik zou heel graag een kijkje komen nemen. Maar wacht op de vele nieuwe foto's en filmpjes die gaan komen. Heel plezier lieverd op naar het nieuwe avontuur. En blijf schrijven he. Want heel veel mensen volgen je over de hele wereld. Ik hou van je, dikke kus en knuf Mamsel.

  • 05 Juli 2013 - 00:09

    Corina:

    Wow meid wat heerlijk weer om dit allemaal te lezen. Het is zo duidelijk door de woorden heen dat je zo gelukkig bent. Helemaal in je element. Natuurlijk wist je dat je een fantastische reis zou gaan maken. Maar dit overtreft alles. Ongelofelijk wat je allemaal beleeft en de mooie mensen die je ontmoet. En hoe je daar in groeit naar zelfstandigheid en onafhankelijkheid. Ik als moeder geniet hier zo ontzettend van. Meis ik ben zo super trots op. Je gaat nu een nieuwe fase van je reis tegemoet. De tijd van elke dag watsapp soms zelfs 2x is voorbij. We wisten allebei dat dit ging komen. Het is goed. We konden er langzaam aan wennen. We kunnen elkaar een beetje meer loslaten. Ook dat hoort bij deze reis. Een mooie droom komt uit nu. Werken in een tropisch paradijs met paarden, waar je hart ligt. Wauw dan ben ik toch wel jaloers hoor. Ik zou heel graag een kijkje komen nemen. Maar wacht op de vele nieuwe foto's en filmpjes die gaan komen. Heel plezier lieverd op naar het nieuwe avontuur. En blijf schrijven he. Want heel veel mensen volgen je over de hele wereld. Ik hou van je, dikke kus en knuf Mamsel.

  • 05 Juli 2013 - 00:34

    Corina:

    Oeps er is iets niet helemaal goed gegaan. haha..en ik kan t ook niet weg halen. Weet niet hoe dat moet. XX

  • 05 Juli 2013 - 15:22

    Jacqueline Van Teeffelen:

    Hey Roos

    Wat leuk om je reisverslag te lezen en wat maak je toch veel leuke dingen mee. Ik heb erg moeten lachen dat de mensen bij 20/24 graden met warme handschoenen aan lopen. Je zal later ( als je groot bent ha, ha grapje.) nog heel vaak aan deze reis denken en veel hebben aan al je ervaringen. Ook ik ben wel een beetje jaloers hoor! maar Roos ik gun het je van harte en ik kijk al weer uit naar het volgende reisverslag. Dikke zoen van Jacqueline van Teeffelen

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Roos

Actief sinds 27 Mei 2013
Verslag gelezen: 2282
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11816

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Mei 2013 - 31 December 2013

Mijn eerste reis

27 Mei 2013 - 30 Juni 2013

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: